Skip to content


05 October 2018

Charles Russell Speechlys double shortlisted for 2018 British Legal Awards

Charles Russell Speechlys has been shortlisted for Private Equity team of the year and Best Use of Technology at the 2018 British Legal Awards. The annual awards celebrate achievement, excellence and innovation in the legal profession.

A notable example of our private equity expertise was our role on the acquisition of Key Travel for long-standing client, Elysian Capital. Edward Brett of Elysian Capital commented on the deal “Charles Russell Speechlys did an excellent job of navigating through the complexity of acquiring a US and UK regulated business in an accelerated five-week timeframe. They delivered a real teamwork driven performance through a challenging but enjoyable transaction.” Please click here to read our press release for more information on the deal.

Commenting on the shortlisting, Malcolm MacDougall, partner and head of the Private Equity team said “we are delighted to be shortlisted for this award for a second time. The team showcased excellent project management and teamwork within an expedited timeframe, working seamlessly with our banking team and lawyers from a variety of jurisdictions on this complex cross-border transaction.”

The Best Use of Technology submission focussed on the technology used by our Litigation and Dispute Resolution team during the longest-running trial in Cayman Islands’ history. The team’s work which included co-developing bespoke software with FTI Consulting LLP and RSM enabled 30 years’ worth of financial transactions and a vast, chaotic and uncoded dataset to be organised and interrogated, then used to prove that the claimants were complicit in a $330bn Ponzi scheme, the largest in history.

Charlotte Pender, partner in our Litigation and Dispute Resolution team said: “We are thrilled to be shortlisted for this award, which recognises the hard work of all of the team whose innovative approach to data interrogation was integral to our success in this trial.”

The winners will be decided by an independent judging panel at this his year's ceremony, which will take place on Thursday 29 November at Finsbury Square, London EC2.